[PATCH 5/5 net-next] net: makes skb_splice_bits() aware of skb->head_frag

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

From: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@xxxxxxxxxx>

__skb_splice_bits() can check if skb to be spliced has its skb->head
mapped to a page fragment, instead of a kmalloc() area.

If so we can avoid a copy of the skb head and get a reference on
underlying page.

Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Ilpo Järvinen <ilpo.jarvinen@xxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Maciej Żenczykowski <maze@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Tom Herbert <therbert@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Ben Hutchings <bhutchings@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Matt Carlson <mcarlson@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Michael Chan <mchan@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
---
 net/core/skbuff.c |   10 +++++++---
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/net/core/skbuff.c b/net/core/skbuff.c
index 2ad1ee7..e5bd086 100644
--- a/net/core/skbuff.c
+++ b/net/core/skbuff.c
@@ -1699,14 +1699,18 @@ static bool __skb_splice_bits(struct sk_buff *skb, struct pipe_inode_info *pipe,
 			      struct splice_pipe_desc *spd, struct sock *sk)
 {
 	int seg;
+	bool head_is_linear = !skb->head_frag;
 
-	/*
-	 * map the linear part
+	/* map the linear part :
+	 * If skb->head_frag is set, this 'linear' part is backed
+	 * by a fragment, and we can avoid a copy.
 	 */
 	if (__splice_segment(virt_to_page(skb->data),
 			     (unsigned long) skb->data & (PAGE_SIZE - 1),
 			     skb_headlen(skb),
-			     offset, len, skb, spd, true, sk, pipe))
+			     offset, len, skb, spd,
+			     head_is_linear,
+			     sk, pipe))
 		return true;
 
 	/*


--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html


[Linux Kernel Discussion]     [Ethernet Bridging]     [Linux Wireless Networking]     [Linux Bluetooth Networking]     [Linux Networking Users]     [VLAN]     [Git]     [IETF Annouce]     [Linux Assembly]     [Security]     [Bugtraq]     [Photo]     [Singles Social Networking]     [Yosemite Information]     [MIPS Linux]     [ARM Linux Kernel]     [ARM Linux]     [Linux Virtualization]     [Linux Security]     [Linux IDE]     [Linux RAID]     [Linux SCSI]     [Free Dating]

Add to Google Powered by Linux