[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

NASA Remembers Those Lost Pursuing Discovery And Exploration

Jan. 24, 2011

Katherine Trinidad 
Headquarters, Washington 



WASHINGTON -- NASA Administrator Charles Bolden and Deputy 
Administrator Lori Garver will lay a wreath at the Arlington National 
Cemetery in Virginia at 10 a.m. EST, Thursday, Jan. 27, to 
commemorate the agency's National Day of Remembrance. 

NASA has an agency-wide Day of Remembrance every January to honor the 
fallen crews of Apollo 1, space shuttles Challenger and Columbia, and 
all of those who have given their lives in the cause of exploration. 

Journalists who want to attend the wreath-laying ceremony must contact 
the Arlington National Cemetery public affairs office at 
dave.foster1@xxxxxxxxxxx by 4 p.m., Jan. 26, for access information. 

At 10:30 a.m., NASA's Kennedy Space Center Director and former 
astronaut Bob Cabana will take part in a wreath-laying at the Space 
Mirror Memorial at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in 
Florida. The ceremony is open to media representatives and the 
general public. 

At NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston, Center Director Michael L. 
Coats will be joined by astronaut family members to lay a wreath at 
the Astronaut Memorial Tree Grove at 11:30 a.m. on Jan. 27. Media 
representatives interested in covering the memorial should contact 
the Johnson newsroom by 4 p.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 26, at 

Friday, Jan. 28, marks the 25th anniversary of the Challenger 
accident. At 9 a.m. EST, the Astronauts Memorial Foundation will hold 
a remembrance service honoring the STS-51L crew members at the 
Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida. NASA Television will 
provide live coverage of the event, which will take place at the 
visitor complex's Space Mirror Memorial. 

Speakers at the event include Bill Gerstenmaier, NASA associate 
administrator for Space Operations; June Scobee Rodgers, widow of 
STS-51L Commander Dick Scobee; Robert Cabana, former astronaut and 
director of NASA's Kennedy Space Center; and Michael McCulley, former 
astronaut and chairman of the Astronauts Memorial Foundation. 

Journalists interested in covering the Jan. 27th wreath-laying or the 
Jan. 28 memorial should contact Andrea Farmer at 321-449-4318 or 
Jillian McRae at 321-449-4273 for access information. The public also 
is invited to attend the service. The Kennedy Visitor Complex will 
provide flowers for all ceremony guests and visitors throughout the 
day to place at the memorial. 

Challenger's seven astronauts died shortly after launch on Jan. 28, 
1986. The crew consisted of Commander Scobee, Pilot Michael J. Smith, 
Mission Specialists Judith A. Resnik, Ellison S. Onizuka, and Ronald 
E. McNair, and Payload Specialists Gregory B. Jarvis and Sharon 
Christa McAuliffe. 

The Astronauts Memorial Foundation, a private, not-for-profit 
organization, built and maintains the Space Mirror Memorial. The 
memorial was dedicated in 1991 to honor all astronauts who lost their 
lives on missions or during training. It since has been designated a 
National Memorial by Congress. 

To view an online tribute, including photographs, videos and 
information about the crew members on Apollo 1 and shuttle Challenger 
and Columbia, visit: 


For NASA TV downlink information, schedules and links to streaming 
video, visit: 



To subscribe to the list, send a message to: 
To remove your address from the list, send a message to:

[JPL News]     [Cassini News From Saturn]     [NASA Marshall Space Flight Center News]     [NASA Science News]     [James Web Space Telescope News]     [Cassini]     [Science Toys]     [JPL Home]     [NASA KSC]     [NTSB]     [Deep Creek Hot Springs]     [Hot Spring Photos]     [Yosemite Camping]     [Yosemite Discussion]     [NSF]     [Bake Sale for NASA]     [Telescopes]

Powered by Linux