Custom Search

Re: Re: [PATCHv3-resend] atomic: add *_dec_not_zero

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]



On Friday 17 June 2011 17:13:12 Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> On Friday 17 June 2011, Sven Eckelmann wrote:
> > Introduce an *_dec_not_zero operation.  Make this a special case of
> > *_add_unless because batman-adv uses atomic_dec_not_zero in different
> > places like re-broadcast queue or aggregation queue management. There
> > are other non-final patches which may also want to use this macro.
> > 
> > Reported-by: David S. Miller <davem@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Signed-off-by: Sven Eckelmann <sven@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@xxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@xxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@xxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@xxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@xxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@xxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Matt Turner <mattst88@xxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@xxxxxxxxxx>
> > Acked-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
> > Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@xxxxxxxxx>
> > Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@xxxxxxxxx>
> > Cc: linux-ia64@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> > Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@xxxxxxxx>
> > Cc: linux-arch@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> > ---
> > Nothing changed - only added the Acked-by from Hirokazu Takata. That
> > means that I am still waiting for ia64 and Arnd Bergmann (maybe he wants
> > to merge it in his tree?).
> 
> Hmm, I didn't look at the first versions unfortunately. Remind me why we
> don't just open-code the atomic_add_unless in batman-adv.

Because some developers behind batman-adv and fault_inject thought that it is 
easier readable and David S. Miller said that it is a good idea to have 
something like it in atomic*.h

Other places were it can be used:
 * drivers/media/video/omap3isp/ispstat.c
 * drivers/s390/net/qeth_core_main.c
 * fs/ext4/ext4.h
 * fs/xfs/linux-2.6/xfs_buf.c
 * mm/memcontrol.c
 * net/core/drop_monitor.c
 * net/phonet/pep.c

> Since people apparently think that this patch is a good idea, I'll merge it
> in the asm-generic tree once I understand why this is done.

Don't feel pushed --- you can just say that you absolutely doesn't want it. I 
only tried to keep David happy, but don't want to start a fight over it.

thanks,
	Sven

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: This is a digitally signed message part.


[Linux Kernel]     [Sparc Linux]     [DCCP]     [Linux ARM]     [Linux]     [Photo]     [Yosemite News]     [Linux SCSI]     [Linux x86_64]     [Linux Hams]

  Powered by Linux