[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
  Web www.spinics.net


Dear IETFers,
Here is CFC for Itojun Service Award.
Jun Murai


The Itojun Service Award is presented every year to an individual or a
group who has made outstanding contributions in service to the IPv6
community.   The deadline for nominations for this year's award is 13
July 2012.  The award will be presented at the 85th meeting of the
IETF to be held in November 2012 in Atlanta, USA.

About the Award

The Itojun Service Award was established by the friends of Itojun and
administered by the Internet Society (ISOC), recognises and
commemorates the extraordinary dedication exercised by Itojun over the
course of IPv6 development.  The award includes a presentation
crystal, a US$3,000 honorarium, and a travel grant.

The award is focused on pragmatic technical contributions, especially
through development or operation, with the spirit of servicing the
Internet.  With respect to the spirit, the selection committee seeks
contributors to the Internet as a whole; open source developers are a
common example of such contributors, although this is not a
requirement for expected nominees.  While the committee primarily
consider practical contributions such as software development or
network operation, higher level efforts that help those direct
contributions will also be appreciated in this regard.  The
contribution should be substantial, but could be immature or ongoing;
this award aims to encourage the contributor to keep their efforts,
rather than just recognizing well established work.  Finally,
contributions of a group of individuals will be accepted as deployment
work is often done by a large project, not just a single outstanding

The award is named after Dr. Jun-ichiro "Itojun" Hagino, who passed
away in 2007, aged just 37.  Itojun worked as a Senior Researcher at
Internet Initiative Japan Inc. (IIJ), was a member of the board of the
Widely Integrated Distributed Environment (WIDE) project, and from
1998 to 2006 served on the groundbreaking KAME project in Japan as the
"IPv6 samurai". He was also a member of the Internet Architecture
Board (IAB) from 2003 to 2005.

The past winners of the award are as follows:

2009 Winner: Lorenzo Colitti and Erik Kline
2010 Winner: Bjoern A. Zeeb
2011 Winner: Alexandre Cassen and R .A Nimi Despr Nis

For additional information on the award, please visit

Award Nomination Procedure

Neither the nominee nor nominator needs to be a member of ISOC.
Nominate via email to <itojun-award at elists.isoc.org> and include the
following details:
1. Name and Email address of nominee (in case of a group nominee,
names and Email addresses of representative persons of that group)
2. CV/Bio of nominee (in case of a group nominee, a summary of the
group's achievements)
3. Statement of recommendation including specific acts, works,
contributions, and other criteria that would show the nominee to
fit the standard set by Itojun.  Please include corroborating
references with their name, email address, and telephone
number. Conclude with your affiliation, postal address, and
telephone number as well as the postal address, telephone and fax
number of the nominee.

Thank you in advance for your support,

Jun Murai
Itojun Service Award Selection Committee

[IETF Annoucements]     [IETF Obscurity Interest]     [IETF]     [IP Storage]     [Yosemite News]     [Linux]     [Pilates]     [Linux SCTP]     [Linux Newbies]     [Fedora Users]

Add to Google